Tale from Germany

My name is Tale, I am 19 years old and I am from a small town in the north of Germany. I finished school this year, so I was looking for some new experience and adventures. I decided to go abroad as a volunteer to meet a lot of people, learn Spanish and to challenge myself in building a new life in a completely different environment.

I nearly spent already one month here and the time went too fast. The first days my flatmate and I discovered the city. We just walked through the city as the most german tourists you can imagine. Taking pictures all the time, going to the beach and getting sunburnt. But I loved that. I think we could do all the tourist stuff for more weeks, because Valencia has so many beautiful places to visit.

After this little holiday my work in the youthcentre in Quart de Poblet started. I am working with Children in the age of 12 to 17 who are coming to this place and meet their friends, do some homework or participate in the activities we are planning. In the next Blog, when I have spent more time at work, I will explain more about the activities.

Last week we had our On-arrival-Training, sadly via Zoom, but even though it was so nice to meet so many people from all over Europe that are doing a voluntary here in Spain too. I really hope, that we will visit each other, or one day meet in person in the mid-term-training.

As you can see there are so many different things that already happened in just three weeks, so I still would not talk about having an everyday life. Every day and week is so different. Sometimes it is hard and exhausting because you have so many impressions, but on the same time it is so beautiful.

I already enjoyed my first time here in Valencia so much, that I am now looking forward to the next weeks/months and all the beautiful things that will happen!